Exam Updates

Salary & Pay Levels

Every recruitment notice states what the job pays, but in different terms: SSC and UPSC give a 7th Pay Commission pay level, the banks give a basic-pay scale, and a few — SBI, LIC, the general insurers — add an approximate monthly or yearly figure for a named city. This page sets those side by side, exam by exam, exactly as each notice puts it.

Read the pay column as the start of the scale, not as take-home pay. Dearness allowance, house rent allowance and transport allowance are added on top and depend on the current DA rate and the city of posting; where a notice states a monthly figure it names the city, and the figure holds for that city.

Exam updates · checked 4 October 2026

Application forms closing soon, from the official notices

Every deadline below was read on the conducting body’s own portal. Apply days before the close — the last day is when portals slow down and no commission grants an extension for it.

5Oct 2026

Next deadline

Closing soonest

  1. 01
  2. 02
  3. 03
  4. 04

Salary 2026 — from the notices

Government job salary 2026: pay, stated monthly pay and bond by exam

22 examinations, each read from its current notice or advertisement. "Not stated" means the notice gives no figure, not that there is none — the pay of the IAS or of a CAPF Assistant Commandant is set by service rules the notice does not reproduce. Each exam's full job profile, with the posts, departments and conditions, is linked below the table.

Pay as each notice states it: a 7th CPC pay level and its basic-pay range, or a bank or insurer pay scale. Monthly figures are the notice’s own approximations for the city it names. Built from the job profiles on the exam pages.
ExamPostsPay (from the notice)Stated monthly payBondNotice
SSC CGLASO, Inspector (Income Tax, CBIC), AAO, Auditor, Tax Assistant and othersLevels 4–8: ₹25,500–1,51,100Not statedNot statedSSC notice, 21 May 2026
SSC CHSLLDC / JSA; Data Entry OperatorLevels 2–5: ₹19,900–92,300Not statedNot statedSSC notice, 7 September 2026
SSC MTSMulti-Tasking Staff; Havaldar in CBIC and CBNLevel 1 (no rupee range in the notice)Not statedNot statedSSC notice, 26 June 2025
SSC GD ConstableConstable (GD) in the CAPFs and SSF; Rifleman (GD), Assam RiflesLevel 3: ₹21,700–69,100Not statedNot statedSSC notice, 1 December 2025
SSC CPOSub-Inspector in Delhi Police and the CAPFsLevel 6: ₹35,400–1,12,400Not statedNot statedSSC notice, 10 September 2026
SSC JEJunior Engineer (Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, Telecom); Scientific Assistant, IMDLevel 6: ₹35,400–1,12,400Not statedNot statedSSC notice, 2 September 2026
IBPS POProbationary Officer / Management Trainee in 11 public sector banksBasic ₹48,480–85,920Not statedLeft to the allotted bankIBPS notification, 1 July 2026
IBPS ClerkCustomer Service Associate, recruited state-wiseBasic ₹24,050–64,480Not statedLeft to the allotted bankIBPS notification, 1 August 2026
SBI POProbationary Officer (JMGS-I)Basic ₹48,480 plus 4 increments (scale to ₹85,920)CTC about ₹21.97 lakh a year at Mumbai₹2 lakh, 3 yearsSBI advertisement CRPD/PO/2026-27/09
SBI ClerkJunior Associate (Customer Support & Sales)Basic ₹26,730 (scale ₹24,050–64,480)About ₹46,000 a month in a metroNone statedSBI advertisement CRPD/CR/2026-27/17
IBPS RRBOffice Assistant; Officer Scale I, II and III in 28 RRBsNot stated in the notificationNot statedNot statedIBPS notification, 1 September 2026
UPSC CSEIAS, IPS, IFS and 20 Group A and B servicesNot stated in the noticeNot statedNot statedUPSC notice, revised 6 February 2026
NDAOfficer cadets for the Army, Navy and Air ForceLevel 10 as Lieutenant: ₹56,100–1,77,500, plus MSP ₹15,500₹56,100 stipend a month in academy trainingTraining costs repayable on withdrawalUPSC notice, 20 May 2026
CDSIMA, INA and AFA (permanent); OTA (short service)Level 10 as Lieutenant: ₹56,100–1,77,500, plus MSP ₹15,500₹56,100 stipend a month in academy trainingTraining costs repayable on resignationUPSC notice, 20 May 2026
UPSC CAPFAssistant Commandant (Group A) in BSF, CRPF, CISF, SSB and ITBPNot stated in the noticeNot statedNot statedUPSC notice, 20 February 2026
UPSC ESEGroup A and B engineering services in four streamsNot stated in the noticeNot statedNot statedUPSC notice, 16 September 2026
UPSC IFoSIndian Forest Service (All India Service)Not stated in the noticeNot statedNot statedUPSC notice, revised 6 February 2026
LIC AAOAssistant Administrative Officer, Generalist and Specialist; Assistant EngineerBasic ₹88,635 (scale to ₹1,69,025)About ₹1,26,000 a month in an A-class city₹5 lakh, 4 yearsLIC notifications, 16 August 2025
LIC ADOApprentice Development OfficerStipend about ₹51,500; basic ₹35,650 on appointmentAbout ₹56,000 a month in an A-class city₹3 lakh plus ₹3 lakh indemnity, 4 yearsLIC zonal notices, 2022–23
NIACL AOAdministrative Officer (Scale I), Generalist and SpecialistBasic ₹50,925 (scale to ₹96,765)About ₹90,000 a month in a metro4 years; one year’s gross salaryNIACL advertisement, 7 August 2025
NIACL AssistantAssistant, recruited state-wiseScale ₹22,405–62,265About ₹40,000 a month in a metroNone; ₹25,000 plus salary if leaving in probationNIACL advertisement, 16 December 2024
UIIC AOAdministrative Officer (Scale I), Generalist and Hindi OfficerScale ₹82,485–1,56,745About ₹1,10,000 a month in a metro5 years; salary paid, up to one year’s, plus ₹35,000UIIC advertisement, 7 September 2026

Basic pay is not take-home pay

A pay level fixes the basic pay. Gross salary adds dearness allowance, house rent allowance and transport allowance, which depend on the DA rate in force and the city of posting, and deductions for NPS and tax come off it. That is why the same post pays differently in Delhi and in a district town, and why this page quotes a monthly figure only where the notice itself gives one.

Reading a pay line

What pay level, scale, CTC and bond mean in a notice

  • Pay level — a row of the 7th Pay Commission pay matrix used by central government posts. Level 4 starts at ₹25,500 and Level 7 at ₹44,900; each step up the level is an annual increment.
  • Pay scale — how banks and insurers write pay: a starting basic, then increments and the years they run for, ending at the top of the scale — ₹48,480–2,000/7–62,480… reads as ₹48,480 rising by ₹2,000 a year for seven years, and so on.
  • CTC — cost to company: everything the employer spends on the post in a year, including contributions that are not paid in hand. SBI states one for PO at Mumbai; it is larger than the monthly salary times twelve.
  • Bond — an undertaking to serve a minimum period, with an amount payable on leaving early. It is part of the job’s terms and worth reading before accepting an offer.

Questions

Salary & Pay Levels — FAQs

Which government exam job pays the most in 2026?

Among the notices read here, the highest stated starting pay is in the officer posts: LIC AAO (basic ₹88,635, about ₹1,26,000 a month in an A-class city), UIIC AO (scale from ₹82,485, about ₹1,10,000 a month in a metro), SBI PO (basic ₹48,480 plus four increments, CTC about ₹21.97 lakh a year at Mumbai) and the defence officer entries through NDA and CDS (Level 10, ₹56,100–1,77,500, plus Military Service Pay of ₹15,500). Of SSC posts, the highest is Assistant Audit Officer through CGL at Level 8 (₹47,600–1,51,100). The UPSC civil services notice states no pay.

What is the salary of SSC CGL, CHSL and GD in 2026?

The notices give pay levels: SSC CGL posts run from Level 4 (₹25,500–81,100) to Level 8 (₹47,600–1,51,100), CHSL posts from Level 2 (₹19,900–63,200) to Level 5 (₹29,200–92,300), and GD Constable is Level 3 (₹21,700–69,100). These are basic-pay ranges; DA, HRA and transport allowance are added on top, and none of the SSC notices states an in-hand figure.

Is the pay in a notification the in-hand salary?

No. A pay level or pay scale gives the basic pay. In-hand salary adds dearness allowance, house rent allowance and other allowances, which vary with the DA rate and the city of posting, and subtracts NPS contribution and tax. Where a notice gives a monthly or yearly figure — SBI, LIC, NIACL, UIIC — it names the city that figure applies to.

How often is this page updated?

The table is built from the job profiles on the exam pages, and a profile is rebuilt whenever a new notice or corrigendum changes the posts or pay. A row changes on this page the same day.

Start Your Competitive Exam Preparation Today

Choose your exam, learn smarter, practice consistently and track your preparation with Brolly Exam Prep.

Already practising? Create Free Account to track your preparation.

Explore ExamsTake Free Mock Test